top of page
  • Writer's picturesinhs707

Climate Change_ JavaScript


While pondering about my JS midterm and what website I should create, this amazing objective struck my mind and I had to do no more brainstorming on what my website should be about!


CLIMATE CHANGE, a topic, an issue that is very important to me, an issue that makes me feel very upset about

I love nature! I always feel that I need to do something to raise awareness as a designer from my end to remind the world how beautiful nature is and that it won’t be the same if we keep exploiting it the way we are.


Environmental issues are so prevalent that people have stopped caring about them. They have accepted to live with it or maybe they just don’t care! But, isn’t caring for the environment, the nature is like caring for oneself? Would you be happy if the scenic beauty around you vanished?



I keep reading a lot of articles which talk about climatic change and the drastic changes we can expect to see in years to come. At times, I feel surprised at seeing people talk so casually about the environmental changes taking place. I feel amazed at the thought that either everyone is totally oblivious of what is happening around them (which they are not), or they just don’t care! But the when I read the below listed headlines, it really struck me deep-


2018 California wildfires- The most common direct human causes of wildfire ignition include arson, discarded cigarettes, power-line arcs (as detected by arc mapping), and sparks from equipment. Ignition of wildland fires via contact with hot rifle-bullet fragments is also possible under the right conditions.” -Wikipedia


“The three wildfires burning in California are devouring acres of land at a terrifying speed due to strong winds and extremely dry ground conditions created by climate change, authorities say.” -CNN


Global warming could leave 25 percent of the planet in permanent drought- Aridification is a serious threat because it can critically impact areas such as agriculture, water quality, and biodiversity, researcher Chang- Eui Park said.” – upi.com


Northern lights will become colourless due to global warming” -spaceweatherlive.com


“Will Global Warming Change Fall colours?” -appstate.edu


Polar Bears Really Are Starving Because of Global Warming.” -news.nationalgeographic.com



My website collates all my research and work on the issue of Climate change and the projects that I have been working on and would work on in the future in response to creating awareness, setting a propaganda to take initiatives for a better future!

PROCESS-


For the midterm, I planned to complete the introductory part of the website that talks about the specific areas I am focusing on related to Climate Change.


ABOUT Page

The landing page talks about my the various issues I have focused my research on.


The nav bar is common to all the web pages in the website and lets you move from one webpage to another.


The quote behind my motivation to pursue and work on such global issues:


Fluctuations in Weather around the globe over the years:


This section of the ABOUT page mentions specifically the effects of climate change which have been the nucleus of my research.


Clicking on each takes you to the 'CLIMATE CHANGE' webpage to their respective section which has detailed description.


This section talks a little about the VR experiences I have worked on in the Fall'18 semester at Parsons.


I love nature and nature photography, clicking on any image in this section of the page will take you to the 'GALLERY' page which is a collection of my best nature snaps. The entire page is coded using JavaScript, you can zoom in and scroll through the pictures.


GALLERY Page


You can click on any image & view a zoomed version of it.


Next step for the gallery would be to add filters and sort images based on images of animals, beaches etc.



CLIMATE CHANGE Page

I made most use of JQuery is this webpage. The second navigation bar allows you to instantly & seamlessly visit the respective section it is linked to by clicking on the options on the navigation bar.


All my learning from the class helped and guided me a lot while coding this page.



I used JavaScript to include the images related to my research topics in a slideshow, changing every 2 seconds


All the below sections have been designed using CSS, dividing the sections into articles and applying CSS to it.



NORTHERN LIGHTS

An aurora, sometimes referred to as polar lights, northern lights or southern lights, is a natural light display in the Earth's sky, predominantly seen in the high-latitude regions.


The northern lights would become colourless due to the climate change and global warming.




FALL

Last year was my first fall! I was so excited and waiting to see all the fall colours. But the nature had other plans! The fall last year was very short and New York didn’t witness a lot of fall colours.


If global warming results in warmer and hotter fall temperatures, either during daytime or during the night, this would tend to delay fall colours to later in the season, eventually leading to less of the fall colours.





MELTING OF POLAR ICECAPS

The population of polar bears is reducing at a rapid rate due to the melting of polar icecaps because of the climate change.


I watched the heart-wrenching video of a polar bear clinging to life, shot by National Geographic channel. It is really heart-breaking!


The polar bears are starving and fighting for their survival, finding it extremely difficult to find food with the melting of the icecaps.




WILDFIRES & DROUGHTS

The California wildfires in November 2018 claimed 87 lives, with over 500 people still reported as missing.


In very simple and straightforward terms, the rising temperature is the reason for these forest wildfires.




LIVE DATA OF WEATHER AROUND THE WORLD

We are witnessing extreme weather conditions all over the globe with each summer becoming hotter and each winter colder.


My idea for this section of the page was to portray live data of weather statistics for different countries of the world to depict the stark difference in weather around the globe. I wa sable to achieve this to some extent but not fully as I had pictured it to be.



All data for varied weather conditions were saved in a JSON file to display temperature, current weather, day and live time for these India, USA, UK & Japan.

As can been seen in the above video, as of now I was able to portray live time only for my current location i.e. for New York, USA. In the future I would want to be able to achieve that for the rest of the countries as well.


Next step for this section of the page would be to display various live data related to climate change for all the countries.



WEBSITE DEMO


Thank You




46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page